September 13, 2008

  • Update to my post: A doe with two fawns(and a big problem)

     

     

    This is an update on an earlier post. The link to it is here- LINK!

     

    I finally saw the two fawns again today, but they weren't with the doe that has the broken leg. I saw them crossing the access road in front of the tank wash and head down the bank towards the parking lot, but they didn't reappear. I picked up my camera and slowly walked over to the top edge of the bank, and there they were. Only about 15 feet away!

    deer 006.jpg

    Grazing on red clover.

    deer 007.jpg

    They still hadn't seen me so I took one step closer.

    deer 008.jpg

    Whoops! As soon as I took this one, he bolted and was gone. I say he because he has two shallow dimples on his head where his spikes will appear later.

    deer 012.jpg

    The other one hadn't seen me either and was walking off the bank and onto the lot when the first one took off.

    deer 011.jpg

    And this was the last shot I got of either one!

    Those little rascals are fast!

    I was thinking the mommy doe was probably gone by now because Johnny had seen a pack of dogs chasing her a couple of days ago, but I was wrong.

    About a half hour later I caught sight of her up near the top of the hill at the back of the lot. Had to zoom in as much as I could and use my hood as a tripod, but I did manage to get one shot of her. It's pretty poor quality, but you can tell it's her. Her right front leg is still grotesquely bent.

    deer 001.jpg

    But believe it or not folks, she is getting around really well. She managed to outrun the dogs after all.

    She may be around for a long, long time.

     

    Oh and, BTW, this is the Johnny I mentioned.

    Jon

    Say hello to our newest employee, my new tank cleaner, Johnny Moore!

     

     

Comments (15)

  • I need to get a tripod now that I have a decent camera.
    These shots are so good.

  • @Patrizia85 - Sorry the first one bothered you,dear. Was tempted to delete it for awhile, but Cindy talked me out of it. We have our share of coyotes, but she seems to be holding her own!

  • Nature is hard on the animals but that contributes to an animal kingdom as we know it. Looking at your beautiful photos one see the evidence. They can take a knock. They survived and they are gorgeous. I am glad you saw them again.

  • I am so glad you allowed her to live and let nature take its course. The original post haunted me most of the summer. I even asked my husband, who's a hunter, what he would do. He's too much of a nature conservationist to answer, but he doesn't like killing for the sport of killing. I can't believe coyotes haven't gotten to her yet. (Or do you not have them in your area? I'm rather ignorant of their range.) Thank you, thank you for the update.

  • @Danth - Yeah she does, will try to get some better pics of her if she comes back around. About Johnny tho, that was cold,man!hahaha Ex highschool football player and part time coach. Damn good guy in spite of it tho!

  • Great shots of the fawns, Bud... She may be getting around well, but she looks awful skinny. Johnny, on the other hand, looks like he could miss a few meals... hehehe

    dan

  • @angi1972 - Most people won't eat at food prep places they've worked at. Understandable,ey!haha

  • @adventofreason - That "tenderest heart" is what makes you so very special,Cindy. I see it in everything you write. I pray it never hardens.

  • @buddly47 - Good! It was actually a little disgusting because people are so busy doing other things they don't clean properly... so I spent some time... cleaning... I will be washing A LOT of dishes... ah well its a pay check and the schedule is right. lol  Thank for asking Bud!

  • @buddly47 - you bet; the beauty of the wild, the grace of those creatures ....

  • @RubyBogonia - They are beautiful, aren't they?

  • @angi1972 - They look like they're all doing pretty well, ang! Made me happy to see' em! How was the new job today?

  • Hi Johnny!

    OH good! I hope she isn't in any pain anymore.  Maybe she will hang n long enough to make sure the babes can do well alone... Motherhood is a strong motivator.

    Great pictures Bud!

  • Oh, Bud, this is the best thing ever!  I have thought about those three and when I saw this update, I was afraid and then with each picture, my smile got bigger and bigger.  Especially momma.  I am smiling like some slack-jawed yokel, but very happy indeed.  Thank you for taking the time to take the pictures and post them.  And, say "hey" to Johnny from Oklahoma!

    oki

  • These photos are precious ... they came out very clearly !  Lucky you to have had the experience of seeing them !

    By the way .. greeting Johnny Moore !

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply