Day: April 5, 2008

  • What's for Dinner??

    Pretty nice day here today, 60+, sunny, no wind! Thought it might be a good day to burn a little meat on the grill. Stopped by Millers Custom Meats and picked up two 2" thick 20 oz. Porterhouse steaks. Now,I am somewhat of a purist and a minimalist when it comes to seasonings when I'm working on the grill, but people always ask "what do you season these with?"! Actually it's a lite rub with a clove of garlic(uncrushed), a hint of Lee&Perrin's, salt and pepper. The true flavorings are provided by the flame and the Art of The Grillmeister "Mr.Bud"!! As seen here!

    Beef-it IS what's for dinner!!

    Now THIS is medium rare perfection!

    These two and six ice cold bottles of Coors Light-"That's" what's for Dinner.

    Am I not the Most Awesomest Husband or What???

     

  • Driftwood

    Finally, our annual, springtime backwaters flooding of the Ohio River has  receeded, leaving me once again with driftwood covering my, and my three neighbors, backyards. But this year instead of the many, many branches that I (alone) get to pick up and drag off, I have some pretty large logs that I am going to have to take care of before I can start cutting the grass.

    Driftwood 001

    Driftwood 002

    Driftwood 003

    Driftwood 004

    And the key phrase in that last sentence was "before I start cutting"! Not one of my wonderful neighbors will bother to give me a hand cleaning any of this up-nor will they cut any grass,buy one cent worth of gasoline for my little mower(which, of course , I had to buy to keep doing this).

    P1250065

     My 3rd, mind you, in the 28 years we've lived here. Of course when we bought the house in 1980 I was 32 and my neighbors were much older than me. So, being the good neighborly kind of dude that I was I thought I would help these "old folks" out by keeping the backyards cut for them. Now I am the "old guy" on the block!! Every year I tell myself that I am not going to do this anymore. Last year I even tried, but after cutting the area I actually own three times, no one else had made any effort to cut theirs!! By that time, their grass was a foot and a half high and I, being the wusss that I am, decided to go ahead and cut it. It was so high and thick by that time that I promptly fouled the blades on the mower and smoked the drive belt. $50.00 for a new belt and two hours on my back changing it(by myself.....is there any other way??). I have given up on giving up!!!!!! If I am going to have a backyard I can be proud of (with my beautiful view of the river)I have to do it myself!!

    P2160105

    PA020002

    P1260077

    P1260079

    My kitchen 

    Now the question is, do I do this the easy way, or the hard way?

    The easy way would be to roll or push these logs back over the bank where they may float away, or they may just be back in the yard the next time the water comes up.

    The hard way is to rent or borrow a chain saw, spend hours cutting and stacking and burning this driftwood, and then cleaning up the mess left by that process.

    Hmmmmmmm,what to do, what to do??