June 8, 2008

  • The One Car I Wish I Still Owned!!

     

     

    Wishful thinkin' on a hot,lazy Sunday afternoon.

    If there was one thing I could have back, in the exact same condition it was in, at the time I let it go, it would be this car!

    My Space pics 065

    My 1957 Chevrolet Nomad Wagon.

    Bought it in the summer of 1970, while still in the Air Force(stationed in South Carolina), for the paltry amount of $500.00 dollars!

    Summer of '74

    My Space pics 063

    The original 283 went out on me in '71 so I replaced it with a 375hp 396ci Rat motor from a '66 Chevelle.

    My Space pics 064.jpg

    Crane Nitro F cam, Hooker headers, a 780 Holley double pumper, and a Muncie Rock Crusher 4speed rounded out the package!

    No problem melting those H78 bias plys off of those 7X15 Crager rims!!

    New camera pics.jpg

    Got "VanFever" in the summer of '74 and let it go for $1150.00, I believe. More than doubled my money,huh?

    Conservative estimate now would be $30 to $40,000.

    Isn't hindsight Wonderful???lol

     

     

     

Comments (17)

  • That was one spiffy vehicle! THIS is the car I want.
     a '64 Red Cuda. HERE is another view...if I can't have a 'Cuda  than  THIS '70 Red Chevelle will do.
    I love Muscle Cars!

  • Wow B that's a great looking car... at least you have your pictures! lol

  • Nice. It's always great to reminisce about past moving vehicles.

    Thank you for leaving your footprints on my site and checking me out. Come back anytime.

  • This was cool to see- thanks for sharing =0) When I was a kid, my grandfather had a similar model that he carted us all off to Indiana in one summer. Nothing like  how a few pics of a car can stir  up fond memories. 

  • Hubby had a similiar experience with an orange Challenger that he sold before we were married.

  • Great car and great pictures, Bud!!!

  • the nomad.......... find a time machine.. convince the younger you to never let it go!

  • Those are the best weekends sometimes. 

  • @ME_ondisplay - Laid back,Darlin',very laid back!! Needed it,too!!

  • @buddly47 - my nova had 70000 original miles on it.  It was cream colored, and the love of my life.  My favorite part about that car was it was so easy to fix.  And it was so cute.  My ex husband got it in the divorce though.  Stupid.

    My weekend was kick ass how was yours?

  • @Danth - Hell,hindsight is always perfect,Dan!

  • Well you know, they say hind sight is 20/20... or is 30 to 40,000?

    dan =

  • @ME_ondisplay - I love Novas,too. Favorite is the '66 SS!!327-375 horse,Damn!!What a ride!!

  • I love old ramblers and my very first car (which I bought in 2000) was a 1971 chevy nova.  God I loved that car.  I miss it.

  • Very cool car! I love those cars from the fifties. I almost inherited a '56 chevy four door from my Grandad, but he had to sell it right before I turned 16. I have pics at my site of the new vehicle I just purchased on friday. Have a great week, and get those tanks clean!

  • @Still_groovy - Those are two of our kid's in the first one,Matt and Raymona,1 year old Carly was asleep.Second one is my wife Karen and our dog Friskie. And yes, that is a very young ME in the last one!!lol

  • I like neat old cars like that.  I bet you DO wish you had that back.  Who are all the people in the pictures?  Is that you in the last one?

    Kathi

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply