May 16, 2011

  • A VW Bus for Jill, and some foggy river pics.

     

     

    Saw this parked down on the corner on Easter Sunday.

    VW 001

    Soon as I saw it, I thought of Jill! Had to walk down and get a closer look.

    VW 003

    Looks like it just rolled out of the showroom! Haven't seen one that pristine in years. By the late seventies it seemed every one you saw was covered in peace signs and flowers. lol

    They're still out there Jill, don't give up on those dreams!

    I'm thinking it was the next morning around 7:15 when I went out to start my truck and saw this tugboat idling in the high waters of the Ohio.

    Made this one my new wallpaper.

    foggy 006

    foggy 005

    After about five minutes he powered up and slowly headed on upriver.

    foggy 002

    Karen liked this bridge shot, so I set it as her new wallpaper.

    foggy 004

    It's been a lazy weekend here, hoping it stays that way.

    See yuz sometime tomorrow guys, it's beer thirty!

    If you get a chance, go over and check out my buddy Randy's weekend threefur!

    http://flatpick46.xanga.com/747658743/its-a-flatpick-weekend/

    You won't regret it!

     

     

     

     

Comments (68)

  • I love the pictures--just shows you there is beauty all around you everyday. *hugs*

  • Love the foggy bridge shot.  =)

  • Wow amazing photos! Loved this post. :)

  • Forget Jill....I want it!!

  • The tugboat looks like a ghost ship in the mist of the river Ohio . Great pistures .

    In friendship
    Michel

  • Wonderful pics.Buddy. I haven't seen a bug bus in a long time!!!!

  • Thank you for sharing these pictures!  They are amazing!

  • Ha~ Iove it, good catch for Jill!

    Had it been restored?

  • I'm not much of a VW Type 2 fan.  There are lots of them in SoCal, but I call them road blocks on wheels.  They are often on the side of the freeway and on fire.  "Little Miss Sunshine" caught the essence of a bus, they had to push start the one in the film all the way across the country.

    Terrific shots of the river.  Being near the river is the one thing I miss from growing up in Detroit.  I do live near the Santa Ana River, but it is dry 10 months of the year and unusable the other 2 for sporting.

  • The VW van is in great shape!  Damn, you made me remember my old "shaggin wagon"  -- 1975 GMC short box. I had it until 2002, that old 250 straight six and 3 on the tree -- drove it back and forth to Calgary about 14 times from Toronto. Mountains, out ice fishing, and the Drive In on Saturday nights with a bottle of panty remover ........   ahhhhh   The good old days.  You caught me on a bad day. I'm getting drunk, make that stinkin' drunk.  I miss my van but I miss somebody else a lot worse.  

  • Beautiful shots.

    And I totally want a VW Bus like that.

  • These photos are amazing

  • hey dude, no one told me about this and I had to go to the "front page" and saw it and you and me on #1 list! how neat!!!!now I'm going to go back and look at the foggy bottom shots.

  • Great pictures.  I'm amazed at the VW bus not being all rusted out!  Very nice!

  • Dear Harold,

    I'm "late" in recommending this entry (but I take pride in the fact I say "I don't blog like most people" anyway. I do things on my own time. love the photos of both the old VW van and esp.the tugboat.

    I live in Southern California, where we still have a "car culture". I've seen "showroom condition" versions of not only this type of van, but a lot of other automobiles, some dating back to the 20s. I've owned a few classics myself. Before my girlfriend forced me to sell it, I had a beautiful 1966 Cadillac, and I also owned a 1961 Thunderbird at one time.

    Michael F. Nyiri,poet,philosopher, fool

  • Great pictures...I like the VW it is cool there is a guy that lives in the trailer park down the road that is reburbishing a VW Van his is the camper style with the roll out vent windows.

  • Here in Croatia we used to have lots of them even during 90s when I was growing up. In some of the remoter areas some people still have them and are using them. To find one is such a good condition is nothing short of amazing.

  • I love the last picture.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment